‘Bass Reeves’: Joaquina Kalukango, Lonnie Chavis among 5 cast members in Taylor Sheridan’s Paramount+ series

EXCLUSIVE: Joaquina Kalukango (Lovecraft country), Lonnie Chavis (this is us), Rob Morgan (Mudbound), Ryan O’Nan (Queen of the South) and Justin Hurtt-Dunkley (Mare by Easttown) was tapped for key recurring roles alongside David Oyelowo and Dennis Quaid Bass Reevesout of yellowstone Co-Creator/Showrunner Taylor Sheridan.

related story

Yellowstone Smasher: Kevin Costner’s cowboy drama series plans end as Taylor Sheridan eyes franchise expansion with Matthew McConaughey

related story

Shea Whigham joins David Oyelowo in Taylor Sheridan’s “Bass Reeves” for Paramount+

related story

Grantham Coleman joins Taylor Sheridan’s Bass Reeves series for Paramount+

Bass Reeves, which is produced in Texas, brings the legendary lawman of the Old West to life. Known as the greatest frontier hero in American history, Reeves (Oyelowo) served as a federal peace officer in the Indian Territory in the post-Reconstruction era and arrested more than 3,000 dangerous criminals without ever being hurt.

More from Deadline

RELATED: 2023 Paramount+ pilot and production orders

Kalukango will play Esme, a former slave who is as good a family with the Reeves as she has different ideas about the future.

Chavis will play Arthur Mayberry, a sweet boy with eyes for Reeves’ daughter Sally.

Morgan will play Ramsey, a once strong man broken by time.

O’Nan will play Darrell Dolliver, one of the two Dolliver outlaws tasked with tracking down Bass and bringing him to justice.

Hurtt-Dunkley will play Ike, a US Deputy Marshal.

The cast also includes series regulars Lauren E. Banks, Forrest Goodluck, Barry Pepper and Demi Singleton. Shea Whigham and Garrett Hedlund are slated to guest star.

Bass Reeves is produced by MTV Entertainment Studios, 101 Studios, Sheridan’s Bosque Ranch Productions and Oyelowo’s Yoruba Saxon. The series was created for television by Chad Feehan, who also serves as showrunner. Executive Producers include Sheridan, Feehan, David C. Glasser, David Oyelowo, Jessica Oyelowo, David Permut, Christina Alexandra Voros, Ron Burkle, Bob Yari and David Hutkin.

Kalukango received the 2022 Tony and Drama Desk Awards for Lead Actress in a Musical for her performance as Nelly O’Brien in paradise place. She also received a 2020 Tony nomination for her performance in the Broadway production of slave game. On the film side, she participated in a 2021 SAG Award nomination for Cast in a Motion Picture for her role as Betty X in Regina King’s directorial debut. A night in Miami. She also appeared on the HBO series Lovecraft country. Kalukango is represented by CAA, Howard Green Entertainment and Goodman, Genow, Schenkman.

Chavis is perhaps best known for his role as the younger version of Sterling K. Brown’s character Randall on NBC this is us. He also starred alongside Rosario Dawson and Maria Bello in The Waterman, directed by David Oyelowo, which premiered at the 2020 Toronto Film Festival. He was last seen in the thriller as Bobby The boy behind the door. Chavis is represented by Canopy Media Partners and Skrzyniarz & Mallean.

Morgan is known for his work in the Oscar-nominated film mudboundA24 The last black man in San Francisco and Warner Bros Mercy only. He can also be seen on HBO’s Winning Time. Morgan is represented by Stride Management and Yorn Levine Barnes.

O’Nan is known for his work on ABCs big skyUSA Queen of the Southfx Fargo, it’s show time Ray DonovanNBC’s Blacklist and CBS’ person of interest, among other. He recently starred in Kevin Smith’s film Killroy was here. O’Nan is represented by the Lasher Group, The Framework Collective, UTA and Goodman, Genow, Schenkman.

Hurtt-Dunkley is known for his roles on HBO mare of easttown, Netflix Soaring Bird and TBS’ The last OG He is represented by Untitled Entertainment and Goodman, Genow, Schenkman.

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline newsletter. For the latest news, follow us Facebook, TwitterAnd Instagram.

Click here to read the full article.

Source : www.yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *